Knowledge Base

Student Management

CoderZ enables teachers to easily manage their classes and students. Student management features include:

1. Resetting a student's password
     Retrieving a student's username

2. Removing a student from a class

3. Changing a student's class

 

All these actions are accessible from the options menu within a student profile on your teacher account in CoderZ. To open the options menu:

  1. Go the "Your Classes" tab on the left-hand menu 
  2. Access the class (from the drop-down-menu) in which the student is enrolled.
  3. Choose the student you want to manage
  4. Open the menu on the right side of the top tool bar

student_management_-_menu.gif 

Here is how you can do all that:

1. Resetting a Student's Password

  1. Open the student's options menu (see above)
  2. Choose "Reset password"
  3. Set a new password
  4. Confirm the password
  5. Click "Done"
  6. Tell your student the new password (if the student provided a valid email address, they will also be notified via email)

student_management_-_reset_password.gif

Retrieving a Student's Username

If your student does not recall their username, you can find it for them by hovering over the student account inside a class. A tooltip will appear with the student's username.

student_management_-_find_username.gif

 

2. Removing a Student from a Class

  1. Open the student's options menu (see above)
  2. Choose "Remove student"
  3. Click "Ok"
  4. Click "Done"

The student will be removed from this class and the total available seats will be updated accordingly.

student_management_-_remove_student.gif

Important Notes: 

  • The student's account will not be deactivated and they will not lose access to CoderZ. They will only lose access to the courses they were assigned in this specific class.
  • After removing the student from this class, teachers will not be able to see their progress and their username or any other information regarding the student; however, the student's progress is saved - if the student joins any class in the future, the teacher could see their progress.
  • To re-add a student who was removed to the same class, simply have the student join the class via registration link and join the class while signing in with the same credentials they had previously (important!)

3. Changing a student's class

In order to transfer an existing student to a different class:

  1. Navigate to the class you wish to switch this student over to
  2. Open the class settings and click the "Invite Students" tab
  3. Add the student to the new class using the "Add Students" method (see full explanation)
    inviting_students-existing-1.png
    Note: this is dependent on the desired class having available seats.

  4. Switch to the class you wish to remove the student from.
  5. Remove the student from the old class.

 

Was this article helpful?
3 out of 3 found this helpful

Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.

Powered by Zendesk